Pokemon Go US Review: Bugs, Errors & Still Fun!

Finally Catching Pokemon Go in America!

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 4.43.42 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-07 at 4.44.02 PM

Pokemon Go is finally in the United States and as games login for the first time everyone is wondering will the game meet expectations set by the commercial that introduced us to the concept of capturing Pokemon IRL? Of course not. Anyone expecting this game to play anything like that commercial can be considered quite delusional. As with any game dependent on servers and mobile connections there are quite a few bugs and errors that plague this game.

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 4.44.13 PM

For instance I had one hell of a time trying to sign up for my chosen name, I wasn’t able to get it to work until I reset my phone and tried again. Initially when I first attempted to sign into the game I repeatedly got the same error and decided to just put my phone down and come back to it later. After the 15th try I got in the game and caught my first Pokemon, Charmander.

pokemon go images

Pokemon Go Review Advice: Walk the City

After walking around my city, I managed to catch about 3 Pokemon and almost wasted all my balls on the Ratticate pictured below.

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 4.42.55 PM

I’m pretty sure the people who were standing near me thought I was trying to take pictures of them but you gotta do what you gotta do if you want to be the best.

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 4.43.52 PM

I also missed out on catching a Rattatat because of an error that caused my Pokeball the freeze after landing a successful capture. I came across a few Pokestops that never loaded and told me to try again but this was mostly a problem I experienced while out in the suburbs, where I work. When I’m home in the big city the game works just fine.

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 4.43.07 PM

I still haven’t had my first gym battle but I’ll update this post when I do. Until then this Pokemon Go review is incomplete and cannot be trusted.

What’s your experience with Pokemon Go been like?

Geek Worthy

Liked it? Take a second to support Chris Sanders on Patreon!

3 thoughts to “Pokemon Go US Review: Bugs, Errors & Still Fun!”

  1. I logged on first when you were streaming on Wednesday, and unfortunately it was not the best experience. However, my nostalgia and excitement pushed me through. This morning I walked around and visited a few pokestop’s and unfortunately a slip of my fingers deleted one of my incense. While I am excited for this game, I am nervous in regards to the lack of supplies without microtransactions. I will say the game seems to be versatile enough to grow into a product I would sell my friends on. Even so, I still am spreading the word in hopes this product grows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *